Targetlytics or AthenaHQ: which fits your team?
AthenaHQ tracks how brands appear across eleven AI engines and adds content, outreach and shopping workflows on credit-based plans. Targetlytics covers twelve assistants on fixed plans and carries the data on to the companies AI sends you.
The short answer
- AthenaHQ fits a mid-market or enterprise marketing team, or an agency, that wants tracking plus content and PR workflows and is comfortable with credit-based billing.
- Targetlytics fits a team that wants the same breadth on a fixed monthly price, plus the companies AI sends to the site, sent to the CRM.
- As of 31 October 2026 AthenaHQ lists a free tier, Starter at $295 a month and custom Enterprise. Targetlytics has a free plan and paid plans from €49 a month.
- AthenaHQ has a SOC 2 Type II report and Looker Studio; Targetlytics has neither yet.
What AthenaHQ does
AthenaHQ tracks how brands appear across AI answer engines: five on its free tier and eleven on Starter, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral. Paid plans add prompt volume estimates.
On top of tracking it runs workflows paid for in credits: content generation and CMS publishing, PR outreach to the authors of cited pages, sponsored ads in ChatGPT and Google, shopping insights with a Shopify integration, and site checks. Agencies get groups, group billing and pitch workspaces. Reviewers praise how easy its reports are to read; the most common criticism is price and hard-to-predict credit use.
What Targetlytics does
Targetlytics checks where twelve AI assistants name you, gives you a weekly to-do list, and shows which companies AI sends to your site. Qualified accounts go to HubSpot and Slack, and follow-up runs by email and on-site chat until they reply or book.
Paid plans cover ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Llama, Mistral and GLM. Each question is asked many times, so one odd answer does not move the result.
Where they differ
- Billing: AthenaHQ charges in credits that workflows use up. Targetlytics plans have a fixed price with brands and queries set per plan.
- Coverage: both cover a wide set of assistants. Targetlytics lists twelve on every paid plan; AthenaHQ lists eleven on Starter.
- Fan-out: Targetlytics shows the searches ChatGPT and Claude run before they answer. AthenaHQ does not state query fan-out on its site.
- Accuracy: AthenaHQ lets you review and reject claims AI makes about you. Targetlytics checks every answer against your official facts, alerts you, and adds the fix to your to-do list.
- Pipeline: Targetlytics identifies which companies AI sent to your site, hands qualified ones to HubSpot and Slack, and follows up by email and on-site chat. AthenaHQ does not state company identification or a CRM integration on its site.
- Security and reporting: AthenaHQ has SOC 2 Type II, SSO on Enterprise, Looker Studio and Power BI. Targetlytics has SSO on Enterprise, a read-only API and an MCP connector.
Choose AthenaHQ if…
- You need SOC 2 Type II for procurement.
- You report through Looker Studio or Power BI.
- You want content generation that publishes to your CMS.
- Credit-based billing suits how your team works.
Choose Targetlytics if…
- You want a fixed monthly price, starting with a free plan.
- You want to know which companies AI sent to your site and send them to HubSpot and Slack.
- You want to see the searches AI runs before it answers.
- You want answer pages, an on-site assistant and follow-up for the visitors AI sends you.
- You run an agency and want white-label reports on your own domain.
How each is priced
AthenaHQ lists a free Essential tier with 300 credits, Starter at $295 a month with 3,600 credits and 17% off annually, and custom Enterprise, as of 31 October 2026. The API is a paid add-on on Starter.
Free plan: ChatGPT, one brand. Paid plans from €49 a month, 14-day trial. Agency plan for teams with several clients.
What each can't do
- AthenaHQ: Persona targeting and multi-language tracking are listed under Enterprise.
- AthenaHQ: Company-level identification of AI visitors and CRM sync are not stated on its site.
- Targetlytics: No SOC 2 report yet; ask us about security reviews.
- Targetlytics: No Looker Studio connector; use the API or CSV and PDF reports.
- Targetlytics: Social replies are drafted for you to post; we don't post on Reddit, LinkedIn or Quora for you.
- Targetlytics: Pipedrive, Attio and Zoho sync are still coming; HubSpot is live.
How we wrote this
We make Targetlytics, so read this as a vendor's view and check the other side yourself.
Details about AthenaHQ come from its own pricing and documentation pages, checked on 31 October 2026, and from reviews on G2 and independent blogs. Several of those blogs are written by competing tools. Plans, prices and engine lists change often, so look at AthenaHQ's pricing page before you decide. If something here is out of date, contact us and we will fix it.
Side by side
What each product offers, from its own pricing and feature pages, checked 31 October 2026. "Not stated on its site" means we could not find it, not that it is missing.
| What you need | AthenaHQ | Targetlytics |
|---|---|---|
| AI assistants checked | Free: 5. Starter: 11 (ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral) | Twelve on every paid plan: ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, AI Overviews, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Llama, Mistral, GLM |
| Query fan-out | Not stated on its site | Yes: the searches ChatGPT and Claude run, and sources for every assistant (paid plans) |
| Prompt demand estimates | Yes (prompt volume estimation, paid plans) | Monthly estimate per question from Google keyword data and your Search Console |
| Personas and buying stage | Persona targeting listed under Enterprise | Persona, buying stage, topic and intent on every question, every plan |
| Countries and languages | Country-level on Starter; multi-region and multi-language on Enterprise | One country and language per brand; add a brand per market |
| Pages AI cites | Yes | Yes, with outreach suggestions |
| AI crawler analytics | Crawler access audit and robots.txt/llms.txt management; bot visit analytics not stated | Weekly crawler access check; bot visit counts with our server adapter |
| Alerts when AI gets your facts wrong | Knowledge base review: reject incorrect claims pulled from AI answers | Yes, checked against your official facts (Professional and up) |
| Outreach | Yes: finds authors of cited pages and drafts PR pitches | Email pitches to pages AI quotes, sent after approval; drafted Reddit, LinkedIn and Quora replies (Professional and up) |
| What to change next | Recommendations, content generation and CMS publishing | Weekly to-do list with step-by-step instructions |
| Ads | Sponsored ads in ChatGPT and Google for tracked prompts | ChatGPT, LinkedIn and Meta campaigns drafted from questions AI doesn't name you for (Professional and up) |
| AI shopping | Shopping insights (ChatGPT, AI Mode, Gemini); Shopify from Starter | ACP and UCP readiness per product; Shopify and WooCommerce; ChatGPT ads product feed (Professional and up) |
| Which companies AI sends to your site | Not stated on its site | Named companies, sent to HubSpot and Slack (Ultimate and Agency) |
| Converting visitors from AI | Not stated on its site | Answer pages, on-site assistant and follow-up emails (Ultimate) |
| API and MCP | API as a paid add-on on Starter, included on Enterprise; MCP server; Looker Studio and Power BI | Read-only API and MCP connector on every plan |
| Agencies | Groups with group billing, pitch workspaces, custom roles | Account per client, white-label reports on your domain, client billing |
| Team seats | Unlimited, with role-based access | Unlimited |
| SSO and security | SOC 2 Type II; SSO on Enterprise | SSO and dedicated support on Enterprise |
| Data location | GDPR and DPA; location not stated | EU (AWS Stockholm), GDPR, DPA on request |
| Pricing | Credit-based. Free tier; Starter $295 a month; Enterprise custom | Free plan; paid from €49 a month; Enterprise on request |
See it on your own brand
Start free with one brand on ChatGPT, or take a 14-day trial of a paid plan and see every assistant.